Lesson In A Test…

tristin-and-teresa2.jpg

Screaming laughter, violent joy and the uncontainable ability to remain dignified beyond the “vanishing point” of comprehension!

Yes. I did it yet again.

So here we were, it was that moment in which we took the ‘perspective’ challenge. There it was – the ‘classroom’ moment. That home schooling moment in which I could truly make it a teaching one.  It was that challenge for myself to exercise, with my daughter, the ability to not just see this spelling test as a dumb test or a needless “chore”  or even seeing through the hopeless, mundane perspective of “Eeyore”, instead this spelling test was going to be seen and recognized as an opportunity for excitement in learning what my daughter already knew and where improvement was needed.

Well that is when “drama mama” came forth – the “over acting”, “over emphasizing” and the “ever changing” characters came running to the service of my mind and out of my mouth with every spelling word given. Suddenly the voice inflections triggered the joy switch within me as I began to helplessly laugh – all the while my daughter, staring at me with great concern as though you could interpret her apprehensive look as saying, “Help! My mother has lost it!”  The look of concern changed to her laughing hysterically with that contagious giggle, tickling me beyond what I could handle as the levies of my bladder burst forth like a violent, rushing river and with great force the ‘waters’ raged through and over the cliffs into the gushing waterfall!

Silence fell as the atmosphere seemed to be blanketed with the reality of “Did I really pee?” The puddle of evidence was our giggling reminder of having a little too much fun at my own expense.

Indeed the sobering moment of needing to clean up and change did not wipe away the learning lesson.  Although it was necessary to clean up, shower and change – it was when the realization of changing perspective of how we looked at a test, cleaned up our fears of how we perceived them.

Needless to say, the great lesson learned in the classroom was being able to utilize the gift of laughter as a weapon to tear down the fears of shame in being fearful of “getting things wrong” and just allowing it to be a teaching opportunity of what we ‘get’ to improve with God’s great help! Having joy in the journey!

One thought on “Lesson In A Test…

Leave a Reply

